Maze

RiverMaze

*

Maze

*

It happened, love’s everlasting torque

upon my heart.
*
Did my witness realize my dilemma,
did the maze have me where every
opening was an escape that turned
in upon its self.
*
How many times looked I inward,
and memorize love, its entanglements
snared me again with footfalls and slippery
slopes.
*
Not wishing to draw in another, I struggle
and again succeed in keeping my prize,
my love-you; safe from exposure.
*
I hoped that the agony was just when I
saw you – not true. It gets where I am
going always before I do.
*
I need not count my tears since they are
gone, now replaced with restless nights and
sorrowful songs.
*
I run to another opening, the doorway is large,
the light inviting. Perhaps I will find you there,
around the next corner.
*
It is noisy here, sometimes it’s frightening.
Your slight smile, lifts my spirit, and with a shift
of your head; encourages my heart to write the
things I should have said.
*
Though another corner is behind me while the
day turns to afternoon, then on toward evening
and nights hold is upon me again with its stalking
gloom.
*
I can no more stop loving, searching and hoping
that at the next corner there you may stand, with
a smile upon your lips as you gently take my hand.
*
Twinkling eyes would explain all, the Maze has
ended, and the silence we share is loves sacred song.
*
*

Poetry Thursday.

