The Apron

The Apron

I remember it was a badge of honor a sacred raiment that marked the wearer as head of the females in our family.

It would not fit me anyway. I was but six years old, Momma was so pretty as she bustled from meal course-meats, to various vegetables, to drinks, umm–her tea was the most.

Bread, sometimes yeast rolls or cornbread filled the house with smells and promise of flavors.

Sundays were so special.

I was so proud to help her. My apron was a pretty dish towel either pinned to my blouse or wrapped around my jumper. Mattered not, I was like mommy.

How I loved her, I would dress in her old clothes and wear her shoes about the house as my dolls could attest.

So, loose and clunky clunk CLUNK.

I’m in charge-like it or go back to my room. Ha. They never argued.

Momma often smiled, then kindly told me to put her shoes back or I might
run them over. Pouting, I would do as
she said and bounce into the kitchen
where a cookie and milk might be discovered on the table.

She would hug me and kiss my cheek
saying I was a blessing from GOD.
I believed it was the other way round.

How beautiful and loving those Sundays and quiet days were when we shared in our lives.

Only as I got older and could fit in Momma’s shoes did she seem smaller, even to the shoes that seemed to swallow her feet or the
clothes that became loose.

I could sense that a cloud was forming over our family, and what was to become of us?

Momma spoke of JESUS making a way, not necessarily to escape. His example was to subject himself and
live under the laws of man and endure. Thus He learned of mans weaknesses, desires, folly and interceded and bore mans sin.

He carried the pains of man upon His back, endured the agony of wood upon His bleeding flesh and sacrificed Himself to prevent another condemnation of mankind.

He could have wiped away illness, and even death. Would we all be happy? I would tender a gentle no.

Our planet-GODS footstool could not sustain us all. We would not grow mentally if the same people were in charge all the time. Take Washington as an example.

New ideas not placated old ones shape what is new in our world today.
The gadgets may be new, even revolutionary, so was the iron horse, or telegraph. Momma knew and her Scripture proclaimed there is nothing new under the sun. True, if you base the reason of capitalism or desire to make life easier.

She was a gem and her wisdom is enduring, so why is it that she said on fighting, let the Lords will be done.

Lord, I asked to be put in her place,
I asked to carry her burden as she
endured the fear, pain and uncertainty that leaving her loved ones might cause without her leadership.

I was denied-but not for ill, but to learn by her example. Through her faith that translated and became my own and understanding that our lives here impact not just a family sphere, but extends to community.

I feel her life as that of a cancer victim-are not forgotten, but as warriors fight and eventually fall, so might any of us under the same circumstances.

Life owes, nor guarantees any thing.

Life offers an opportunity, and what we do with it, how we share it, determines our course, but also the course of those we leave behind.

I know GOD will be waiting at the crossroad of today and eternity.

The apron fits me perfectly and on Sunday you can find the best food and tea anywhere at Mom’s table-now mine.

